Blu “My Sunshine” Ft Nia Andrews Soulful Ode Hip-Hop’s Modern Landscape

Blu “My Sunshine” Ft Nia Andrews Soulful Ode Hip-Hop’s Modern Landscape
Blu “My Sunshine” Ft Nia Andrews Soulful Ode Hip-Hop’s Modern Landscape

Blu, the revered Los Angeles emcee, takes listeners on a sun-drenched journey through the city’s suburbs with his soulful track “My Sunshine,” featuring the enchanting vocals of Nia Andrews. This musical gem is part of the groundbreaking “No York” project, an ambitious venture that has captivated the online world for years. Now, Blu’s masterpiece is finally receiving its due recognition with deluxe CD and vinyl editions set to release on March 26th, 2013. The accompanying music video for “My Sunshine” encapsulates the project’s essence, employing a retro yellow vintage film aesthetic reminiscent of Blu’s “Jesus” video released under the Nature Sounds label in February 2012. The album features an impressive array of notable lofi hip-hop music producers.

The video effortlessly meanders through the vibrant cityscape, immersing viewers in dreamy hilltop vistas and echoing Blu’s evocative lyricism that connects listeners to the universal fabric of existence. Produced by the visionary Shafiq Husayn, “My Sunshine” stands as a soulful homage to the modern hip-hop landscape. The track’s neo-soul-inspired hook, gracefully delivered by Nia Andrews, infuses warmth and positivity, making it an instant mood-lifter. The synergy between Blu’s poetic verses and Andrews’ soulful vocals creates a musical synergy that radiates positivity and resonates long after the track concludes.

“No York,” or simply “York,” as it’s also known, represents Blu’s most ambitious project to date. The album masterfully marries classic hip-hop lyricism with the experimental vibes of L.A.’s beat scene. It’s a sonic exploration where timeless vocals intertwine with intricately textured instrumentals, giving birth to a new genre. Flying Lotus, Exile, Daedalus, Dibia$e, and Samiyam are among the luminaries contributing to the album’s unique sonic tapestry. Their contributions to lofi beat making have been instrumental!

Blu "My Sunshine" Feat Nia Andrews Soulful Ode Hip-Hop's Modern Landscape | YouTube Music Video

Published in August 2011: Blu Featuring Nia Andrews “My Sunshine”, Produced by Shafiq Husayn, Filmed by AaronIsNotCool.

01. Doin Nothin (ft. U-God) (prod. Flying Lotus)
02. Everything’s OK (ft. Jack Davey) (prod. Flying Lotus)
03. Everybody Nose (ft. Sa Ra & Nola Darling) (prod. Samiyam)
04. Above Crenshaw (ft. Cashus King)
05. SLNGBNGrs (prod. Dibia$e)
06. Soupa (ft. Suzi Analogue) (prod. Samiyam)
07. Hours (prod. by Daedelus)
08. Annie Hall (ft. Chop, Brooker T, & Tiombe Lockhart) (prod. by Daedelus)
09. Tags (ft. Exile) (prod. Exile)
10. Spring Winter Summer Fall (ft. Jimetta Rose) (prod. Shafiq Husayn)
11. Down To Earth (prod. Shafiq Husayn)
12. My Sunshine (ft. Nia Andrews) (prod. Shafiq Husayn)
13. Jazmine (ft. Andy Allo) (prod. Samiyam) (Vinyl-Only Bonus)
14. Jazzmen (prod. Madlib) (Vinyl-Only Bonus)
15. Ronald Morgan (ft. Edan) (prod. Madlib) (Vinyl-Only Bonus)
16. Keep Pushinn (prod. Knxwledge)
17. Doin Somethin (ft. Pac Div, UNI, J*Davey, Tiron, & Ayomari) (prod. Flying Lotus)

As an album, “No York” is a playground for collaboration and innovation. Blu seamlessly blends his lyricism with guest appearances from artists like Edan, U-God (Wu-Tang Clan), Pac Div, UNI, J*Davey, and Nola Darling, creating a rich tapestry of hip-hop expression. Each track is a testament to Blu’s ability to reinvent and redefine, pushing the boundaries of the genre while paying homage to its roots.

Blu’s “My Sunshine” featuring Nia Andrews is a testament to the power of musical fusion and innovation. It’s a celebration of the vibrant hip-hop landscape, where vintage sensibilities meet modern creativity. With its soulful groove, powerful lyricism, and nostalgic visual aesthetics, “My Sunshine” shines as a radiant addition to Blu’s impressive body of work.

Artist Contact Info:
Her Fav Color | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Lofi hip-hop beats for life… Keep it locked to Big Noise Radio for authentic hip-hop music and culture from Blu and the crew!

Article: Big Noise
Editor: Noiseman
Image: Blu

Stay Updated
Big Noise Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter and be the first to know about upcoming albums, exclusives, events and more.

We use cookies for a third party to collect information about authentication and statistics in aggregated form using analysis tools such as Google Analytics. Both permanent and temporary cookies (cookies for sessions) are used. Permanent cookies are stored in your computer or mobile device for a period of not more than 24 months. By clicking “I accept” or by using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.

Modal subscribe icon
Be the first to know about our new publications and releases
Modal subscribe form

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This