Skyzoo & !llmind “Live From The Tape Deck” via Duck Down Music

Skyzoo & !llmind “Live From The Tape Deck” via Duck Down Music
Skyzoo & !llmind “Live From The Tape Deck” via Duck Down Music

A little after one year since releasing ‘The Salvation,’ Skyzoo returns with a new album entitled ‘Live From The Tape Deck,’ entirely produced by !llmind. Skyzoo, of Brooklyn, NY, has spent the last year promoting & touring off ‘The Salvation,’ completing separate nationwide tours with Ghostface Killah & Raekwon. His music has been featured in ESPN programming and most recently in an episode from the current season of Entourage.

‘Live From The Tape Deck’ is the perfect follow-up record for Skyzoo fans who are anxious for new material. Skyzoo says his goal while recording the album was ” to make something that felt like a 2010 cassette tape. I wanted the content to be raw and lyric driven as always, but not as story driven or emotional as ‘The Salvation’ was. There are still parts of the album that are stories and concepts, but not as much as my debut had. This one was more of a beats and rhymes type of album.”

!llmind brings true validity as the sole producer for the album and helps provide a consistent sound throughout the project. !llmind is a sought after producer who has upcoming beat placements in albums such as Jared Evan (Interscope/Zone 4), Redman (Def Jam), Drunken Tiger & Yoonmirae (two multi-platinum artists from Korea) and more. !llmind is also being used in a publicity campaign by Akademiks where his photos will be placed in print ads across major Entertainment publications.

!llmind took a custom approach to the production for the album based on the concept of “Live From The Tape Deck,” explaining that he “wanted to keep the soundscape warm and ‘analog’ sounding, just like how 2 inch tapes used to sound. Most of the keyboard and synth sounds I used were from analog synths made in the late 80’s. Combined this with using my ASR-10, I was able to capture that feeling, but with a slightly updated feel. I think our debut record, ‘Frisbees’ was a cool way, sonically, to introduce the sound I was going for.”

Skyzoo & !llmind secured features from artists that matched the ‘Live From The Tape Deck’ concept. Skyzoo goes further saying, “I went to who I felt made sense for the records I put them on. For instance, when fans hear the track, “the burn notice”, they’ll agree that the beat, being chaotic and loud, had Heltah Skeltah written all over it.” Fans can watch the music video for “Frisbees” below:

Skyzoo & !LLMIND "Live From The Tape Deck" Album Playlist | YouTube Video

Features in place from Sean Price & Rock of Heltah Skeltah, Styles P, Buckshot, Rhymefest & Torae. A music video is currently in production for the lead track off the album, entitled “Speakers on Blast,” which will premiere shortly. ‘Live From The Tape’ is in stores October 2010 on Duck Down Music Inc.

Track Listing:
01) Digital Analog
02) Frisbees
03) The Burn Notice (feat. Sean Price & Rock of Heltah Skeltah)
04) Speakers On Blast
05) #Allabouthat
06) Barrel Brothers (feat. Torae)
07) The Winner’s Circle
08) Krylon
09) Kitchen Table
10) The Now Or Never (feat. Styles P. & Buckshot)
11) Understanding Riley (feat. Rhymefest)
12) Langston’s Pen

Artist Contact Info:
Skyzoo | Twitter | Facebook | Bandcamp

Keep it locked to Big Noise Radio for authentic hip-hop music from Skyzoo & the Duck Down crew!

Article: Matt Conaway
Editor: Noiseman
Image: MAC Media

Stay Updated
Big Noise Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter and be the first to know about upcoming albums, exclusives, events and more.

We use cookies for a third party to collect information about authentication and statistics in aggregated form using analysis tools such as Google Analytics. Both permanent and temporary cookies (cookies for sessions) are used. Permanent cookies are stored in your computer or mobile device for a period of not more than 24 months. By clicking “I accept” or by using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.

Modal subscribe icon
Be the first to know about our new publications and releases
Modal subscribe form

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This